Au: Please stop answering my carefully worded queries

What is it about incorporating author changes?

It’s officially the dark hour of the soul at Fangs and Clause central as I wade through the morass that is author queries. I love writing author queries. Condensing all my experience and opinions and all the author’s knowledge and bizarre use of the English language together into one fifteen-word green comment balloon is almost like writing very polite poetry. It amuses me.

But answering queries is like wading through a marsh in heavy boots. Now the ball is back in my court. The author has opinions and knowledge and I have to write it all down. And then I have to double check that I cut and paste in the right font and in the right place. And after that, I have to copyedit the new text! Egads, I am exhausted just thinking of precision required.

What’s your dark hour of the work-time soul?

One response to “Au: Please stop answering my carefully worded queries

  1. Opening a new manuscript and following it down a dark path to… nowhere. Good sentences, no typos, but also no fathomable story. Some days I just turn out the lights at dark and put on good music.

Leave a Reply

