Happy Coming Out Day

In honor of National Coming Out Day, I’d like to give a shout out to those of you who think you’re the only one in a room. Maybe you think you’re the only one with back fat, that you’re the only one who has watched every single episode of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” that you’re the only person in your workplace who attends Renaissance Fairs on the weekend, or that you’re the only one who has loved someone of the same gender.

But you’re not. If you start to talk about it, you’ll discover that the Republican who works in marketing at your job watches Buffy after she puts her kids to bed. An administrative assistant dated women before she married her husband. You may find someone who will want to go to a jousting tournament with you.

So talk about it. Come out. Tell your own stories. Don’t let other people define ypu. When I lived in the South, a friend of mine told me that I was liberal because I had gone to college outside the South. I cry bullshit. I was born and raised in the South. I am a feminist bisexual. And I won’t let anyone define Southerners without including people like me.

Come out. Complicate people’s perceptions. Be strong. You rock.

xxox independent clause

2 responses to “Happy Coming Out Day

  1. Out. Everybody out. I’ve never met a Southern feminist bisexual, I knew there had to be at least one. Now if the women’s movement could just have a coming out day, sigh …

Leave a Reply

