We Recruit

I found myself encouraging two different people to become copyeditors yesterday. In my defense, each of them have expressed interest. I marked up one of my student’s papers yesterday with proofreading marks. When I first started to work with students I had to learn not to mark up their papers as if they were proofs. Students kept asking what the little tails were on things I deleted. I had to stop paying attention to en dashes. Freshmen just don’t need to know; they have other things to worry about.

But this student asked. and so I talked her through all the little things I strive to ignore in student papers (hyphenate nineteenth century when it’s a modifier; use an en dash between page numbers; use an en dash in author–reader relationship, etc.). It was downright cathartic.

How do you recruit?

 

(PS Shout out to my grandmother who was born approximately 114 years ago today.)

One response to “We Recruit

Leave a Reply

