I don’t wanna cook!

It’s January, which, for those of us in the northern parts of the Northern Hemisphere, means that we’re cooped up and grouchy. We don’t want to cook, we’re too broke to go out, and our cats view us as the only viable source of warmth in a cold bleak world. It’s time to get out the freelancer’s friend, the slow cooker.

Here’s the young man’s recipe for Mexican pork. Buy some tortillas and salsa or just eat it from the pot (as he does) one forkful at a time.

2 pork tenderloins
1 jar tomatillo salsa
1/4 cup + balsamic vinegar
Olive oil
Peppercorns
Coriander seeds
Juice of 2-3 limes
4 tbsp cumin
Hot pepper to taste
Black peppercorns
Garlic
2 crappy beers someone left in your fridge

Heat some oil, add spices and brown the outside of the pork.

Deglaze the pan with the balsamic, add half a beer, and bring to a boil.

Transfer the contents of the skillet to the slow cooker.  Cook on low all day.

The broth can be frozen for re-use, or you can use it to flavor beans.  I put al dente beans in the slow cooker with the pork.

For a sweet twist, add a cup or two of apple cider to the liquid.

8 responses to “I don’t wanna cook!

  1. Okay, yum, and a brief aside. I thought I was the only person who gave out her partner’s recipes. People actually consult me thinking I have a clue how to cook, not the least observant that I have to send an e-mail before answering every food question.
    I do make a mean cheese and cracker though.

  2. Nom nom nom. I’m a vegetarian now, but I still make something similar for my husband. A packet of onion soup mix, a pork roast, some chopped onion and a cup or so of water. Chuck all that into the crock pot. When it’s done, you can shred it, slather it with pepperoncini and coleslaw, and make sammies.

  3. I do not like cooking. It might border on hate. But given the fact that once upon a time the husband cooked me a dinner with gravy made from cooking oil and flour, I have happily stepped into the role of designated cook. That recipes looks great!

  4. I recently learned that “to season” meant simply “to add salt and pepper.” So, tell me, what exactly does “deglaze” mean? I think part of the reason I detest anything having to do with cooking is the vocabulary. It’s like legal talk, only understood by a select few.

    • When you brown the pork (i.e., fry it in a hot hot skillet until the first millimeter of the pork is cooked through), the pan gets sticky with pork fat and seasoning. Pouring in the beer (or adding any liquid) will make the sticky stuff release into the sauce for flavor. This is deglazing and is usually accompanied by an impressive amount of steaming and bubbling.

Leave a Reply

