The last line

I get told all the time that my last line or paragraph should actually start out the section or the poem. And each time it makes me mad.

Do you realize how hard I worked to get to this point? This is the best line in the WHOLE DAMN WORK if not the best line I wrote in my life. Fuck you, it belongs in the end. Do you want me to have a weak ending? You gotta end on a high note.

But then time passes and, as usual, I realize that my critiquers are right. In reality, my reactions come from a place of fear. I don’t trust that I can write another line as good as that last one to end the piece. I look fearfully around and whisper “What if I never write another good line again?”

But I will. And, my friends, so will you. Write well this weekend. May the writing trenches be good to you.

Love, Indy Clause

2 responses to “The last line

Leave a Reply

