In Which Editing Makes Me Suppress Creative Expression

I was happily reading my little academic journal article when I came across the following quote:

one of the risks is the use of the [complicated technical term] panels as a canvas by graffiti “artists.”

And here is my editorial dilemma. The text was written by an engineer. While engineers are not without creativity, there is little room for creativity in their journal articles. I appreciate that the writer even thought to use the word “artist,” because sometimes graffiti can be quite artistic. But the ironic quotes ruined it all. In fact, with that small exchange, the writer is taking his text in directions he doesn’t really need to go. And so, I took out “artists.” Now it’s not an issue.

How do you contribute to crushing creativity?

5 responses to “In Which Editing Makes Me Suppress Creative Expression

  1. I have a horrible habit of writing the most purple, hyperbolic prose when I get nervous about the story. Later I have to go through and strip it out, even the cooler stuff, because it’s too much of a muchness. Creativity be gone.

  2. The text was written by an engineer. Well, that explains it. Crush away.

    I’ve only been a self-crusher lately. I realized last night that I had the perfect answer to your eating crow post. Opened my working query letter doc to find…. a typo. In the first sentence! Oh, how far I’ve fallen from my days as a perfectionist which incidentally, crushed my creativity. Apparently, I can’t have my cake and eat it too.

Leave a Reply

