Goals

Here’s my little list of writerly goals.

1. A certain reader and I have decided to up the ante. We’re going to exchange the Whole Damn Thing, the big, honking, disobedient manuscript. We started with five pages a few months ago and then I got all cocky and sent her a triple dog dare. She said one of the best things anyone has ever said about my writing: “I got chills when I read that line.” My goal? Give her chills at least once a chapter. Better buy a sweater, my friend.

2. I am going to understand one of my father’s scientific articles if it goddamned kills me. And it might. I’ve had years of this, people. Listening to him rattle on over dinner when I was a kid; he talked to me as if I got a grade above B- in math in my whole high school career (which, let me assure you, I did not).

3. I’m going to somehow balance my editing (work) time and my writing time. I have no idea how this is going to happen.

4. I’m going to catalog my dad’s papers and create a master list of people, places, events, and science issues, so I know what the hell is going on. Has anyone ever written a biography? (I’m not going to, but those are the skills I’m drawing on. Wait, did I say skills? I meant lack of skills.)

5. I’m going to have a beer on my porch sometime within the next four hours.

What are your goals?

6 responses to “Goals

  1. You goal girl! My goal is to figure out a way to make an income without returning to the grind of hospital life and to have a giant glass of wine in the next 10 minutes.

  2. I love that, Bobbi! Yeah, you goal, girl!

    I spent the day with a dozens of parents yesterday. It felt like I had a bad case of poison ivy. Today I’ll likely see them again. My goal? To try my hardest to fit in. Feeling itchy sucks.

    • Did Animaniacs make it up to your neck of the woods? You have a a small lab mouse with a big brain, named “Brain” and a large dumb mouse named “Pinky”. The dumb mouse asks cheerfully “What are we doing today, Brain?” and Brain replies in about the tone that you take above “Same thing we do every day, Pinky, try to take over the world.”

  3. If we’re going with beverage-related goals, let me point to the coffee pot which is just finishing its latest brew.

    Before we left for Portland, I finished my fucker for the umpteenth time and sent it off to my agent. Now I’m in the badlands, looking for a new story while he shops the book. I hate not having something to work on, so my goal is to come up with something I can sink my teeth into. I need a new project.

Leave a Reply

