Strawberry Shortcake

It’s a biscuit day. This means I’m working on a weekend. But in the northern wastes, where I live, it is strawberry season. Here is my recipe for strawberry shortcake (from the Settlement Cookbook):

The biscuits:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Mix 2 c flour, 4 ts baking powder (make sure it’s fresh!!), 1/2 ts salt, and 2 Tb sugar)

Cut in 1/2 c. butter. (You can put this all together in a Cuisinart. You can also buy a pastry cutter and use it to work the butter into the flour. When all else fails, you can use two knives. The goal is to have every bit of flour bonded to a bit of butter.)

Add 3/4 c milk (spoiled milk is fine).

Then stir quickly, turn onto a floured board, and knead for approximately 3.4 seconds, or until the dough holds together. DO NOT OVERHANDLE THE DOUGH.

Pat out and cut with biscuit cutters or a glass.

Stick in the oven for 12 to 15 min.

Strawberries:

Slice up 1 to 2 quarts of strawberries. Sweeten to taste. My mom used to add a bit of lemon just for kicks and jollies. Mix it up, bruising the strawberries a little, and then pour over the warm biscuits. Add whipped cream if you’re that sort of person. A rhubarb/strawberry mixture might be good too.

Die happy.

11 responses to “Strawberry Shortcake

  1. I’m a pastry cutter girl, now pining for strawberry shortcake in a house without the fixins, air conditioning or, at the moment, available counterspace. (I might write about that last bit one day.) I’m going off to put some banana on a bowl of cereal and call it a treat. 🙂

  2. Oh yum.
    Back in the day, I had a Greek friend who family owned a diner. We’d go for biscuits and gravy (fries and gravy, anything and gravy). One night, faces covered in a layer of greasy goodness, I though to ask her about this gravy, an obsession. Turns out it was some generic gravy that came in an enormous can, not a special recipe handed down from generation to generation.
    I could go for some southern biscuits…mmm.

    • They are so easy. Use above recipe but leave out the sugar. Later today I will post young man’s recipe for not-quite-so-fatal biscuits and gravy. When I roll my eyes and complain about making biscuits, I remember that it used to be that women would get up and make biscuits first thing every fucking morning.

    • I do, it’s from the same cookbook. I will make a post about it as soon as the young man gets around to telling me his sausage and biscuit recipe. Stay tuned and try not to drool on your keyboard, it’s bad for the hardware.

  3. Where I live, our version of biscuits is scones. We pronounce them “scons” to distinguish ourselves from Mother England. However, I am in the land of Beaver Tails for a spell. Don’t know what a Beaver Tail is? Imagine this: it’s a hand-stretched yeast dough–maybe filled with sticky fruit things, but probably not–which is then deep-fried, dredged in sugar, and smothered with synthetic whipped cream. belch.

    Scones are a bit more subtle. Although they make up half their weight with butter, the fat doesn’t show. Nothing drips or gets on your fingers. Eating them makes one feel more virtuous than eating a Beaver Tail. Yet, we must consider these poor Canadians who ooze virtue by their very nature. If I had to survive their winters, maybe I’d give up scones for Beaver Tails too. They deserve them!

  4. Pingback: Cheese Biscuits | Fangs and Clause

Leave a Reply

