Fucking Up Before Breakfast

I managed to feed both the cat and the dog without either of them eating the other’s food, and I put out the garbage before the truck came by. Then my morning tilted downhill. That’ll teach me not to feel self-satisfied.

1. Argument with the young man. He was right, but his timing was wrong. I apologized for yelling at him, but for god’s sake I hadn’t even finished my cup of coffee.

2. Reminder of an unfinished project. Quick email back “oh yes, I haven’t forgotten you, I’ll do it this morning” just like the ten other projects I planned on doing this morning.

3. Realization that all the things I put off yesterday to finish the draft are now on my plate. This morning. Right now.

And now that the fire is lit under my ass, it’s time to finish up that coffee and get to work.

What motivates you for better or for worse?

9 responses to “Fucking Up Before Breakfast

  1. I wrote an email to the dean of graduate research yesterday, and within 30 seconds of pressing send, he phoned me. “Gee Hamish, that was quick!” I said (and I’d only said that I wanted to meet or talk with him at some point about a thing). He replied “If I don’t do things right away, I can guarantee I’ll never do them at all. I will have forgotten.” I get that. Living the in panic of (as Indy might say) 50-mumble-ness, I am too scared to procrastinate. It’s not only that I might not finish. I might not even remember what it was that I was supposed to have finished.

Leave a Reply

