Re-writing

For the first time in a year I am working on a poem seriously. Sure, I’ve churned out some poems for my poetry buddies, I’ve even revised them. but this is the first time I have gone back into the poems, the environment of my poetry manuscript, and taken a hard look around.

God these poems are old. But they contain a certain durability, these relics of myself. What have I learned since I wrote these poems? I’ve learned that my poems don’t have to have perfect grammar. I’ve learned that sometimes I’ll settle for an easy word, and I need to push it further. I’m learning, finally, to flesh things out a little.

If I can get back into these poems properly, I can revise and send out the manuscript again. I’ll be back in the Po-Biz with a real revised manuscript rather than a reshuffled order and a sheepish grin. What gets you back into it?

Leave a Reply

