Keeping science scientific

One of the things I’ve learned from my years of science editing is that people are goddamned fools about science. And I’m not even talking about climate change (although I certainly could).

Let’s take anthropomorphizing. I’m all about anthropomorphizing in poems. But there is a time and a place. Please do not anthropomorphize bacteria in semi-technical text.

For example: “Probiotics are beneficial, friendly live microorganisms.”

Bacteria is not friendly. It does not invite me in for coffee. It does not call and make sure that I have power. It just is.

What misuse of science pisses you off?

5 responses to “Keeping science scientific

Leave a Reply

