Laziness Shall Not Be Tolerated

One of my readers sent me the following:

Here’s the oldest source I know of for today’s fangs and clause musing: F. Scott Fitzgerald in Esquire:
“Before I go on with this short history, let me make a general observation — the test of a first-rate intelligence is the ability to hold two opposed ideas in the mind at the same time, and still retain the ability to function. One should, for example, be able to see that things are hopeless and yet be determined to make them otherwise.”

CITATIONS MATTER, PEOPLE
Mea Culpa, or whatever Jews say to apologize for fucking up. Fitzgerald said it about twenty-five thousand times better than I ever could.
Thank you, my friend, for keeping me somewhat honest.
[And I have to apologize for my continued laziness; the spacing is fucked up because I copy and pasted it from my email. However, I want to write my own stuff and not belabor my blog, and so, please forgive me. I have deadlines to reach and miles to go before I sleep (R. Frost).]
2 responses to “Laziness Shall Not Be Tolerated

  1. Mea culpa? In New Zealand Maori, one says “aroha mai” which means “love towards me.” A little bit more self-loving than “me bad.”

    They don’t call me doctor for nothing!

Leave a Reply

