Five Favorite Books

Downith would like me to talk about my five favourite books. However, I do not speak Brit/Canadianese, and will instead babble at length about my five favorite books. One of the things Downith and I have in common is that we find that cracks about the differences in various versions of English are pretty much always funny. (Raise your hand if you didn’t even notice the joke.)

I do not have five favorite books. My house is insulated with books. But one thing I’ve noticed about being thirty-mumble years old is that there are books I love that I can’t read again for fear of hating. Then there are the books that I can read again, and love still.

When I was seventeen, my favorite books were Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery, The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley, and Walden, which I read in twelfth grade English, and my selected e.e. cummings.

When I was twenty-two, my favorite books were The Wood Wife by Terri Windling, Diving Into the Wreck by Adrienne Rich, and Selected Poems of H.D.

When I was twenty-seven my favorite books were The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier and Clay by Michael Chabon, The Jetty by Talvikki Ansel, A is for Crocodile (an awesome kid’s book, I can’t remember the author), and Appalachia by Charles Wright.

Today I’m fond of (off the top of my head) ]open interval[ by Lyrae Van Clief-Stefanon, Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare, 109 East Palace by Jennet Conant, and Spiral Hunt by Margaret Ronald.

What else should I read?

13 responses to “Five Favorite Books

  1. Anne of Green Gables and The Witch of BB pond feature on my lists as well. Here are some more you should read: The Book Thief (Marcus Zusak), The Bone People (Keri Hulme), The Spirit Catches you and You Fall Down (Anne Fadiman), The Hare with Amber Eyes (Edmund Waal). Au bonheur des dames (Emile Zola – you know he was a friend of your GGGG uncle, right?), A Wrinkle in Time (Madeleine Lengle), and A Little PRincess (Frances Hodgson Burnett). Oh Wait! that’s more than five! And there are more to go…

    As you can probably guess, some of those have been my favourite books since, well, since Terri was a child. They have endured.

  2. Maus by Art Spiegelman, The Collected Stories of Richard Yates, Cat’s Eye by Margaret Atwood, Sophie’s Choice by William Styron, Ordinary People by Judith Guest, Call of the Wild by Jack London.

    I never read children’s books when I was little, but when the time came I loved, and still love, all the Little House books. And Black Beauty.

    • Who is this Terii character with her beautiful labs?

      I thought about a ton more books that I didn’t mention: Refuge by Terry Tempest Williams, Pilgrim at Tinkers Creek by Annie Dillard, The Outermost House by Henry Beston from my early twenties. I find I can’t reread Pilgrim at Tinkers Creek, but the Outermost House is always good.

  3. when do we get to tell you about the books noone should read? I am on sabbatical this semester and thought I’d get lots of leisure reading done as well as the academic stuff I am paid to know. And I have a stack of second hand books from floor to ceiling. But, some of the crap that some of my favourite authors are capable of writing is worth telling you about…

Leave a Reply

