First sentence, best sentence

Cougar and I are sitting on the bed in Fangs and Clause central (Please note: We have more than one bed.) Many things have happened since we presented this contest. Cars have bitten the dust, friends have had interviews with prestigious universities, and we have eaten our weight in seafood.

Cougar: Let’s start with Teri.

Indy: What about her?

Cougar: Her first sentence is seven bloody sentences long.

….long pause while Indy counts…

Indy: You’re right. Only Sarah’s is one sentence.

Cougar: Yeah, but it’s 54 bloody words long.

Indy: [language redacted] I quit.

Cougar: Don’t quit, Indy! And sit up straight, what your father say if he saw you slouching like that?

Indy: I’m too depressed about my car. And I’m tired of arguing with Cougar in public places about whether “[Name of city redacted] is one of my favourite places in the world” counts as a sentence. I don’t think I’m funny anymore. Cheer me up. Give me better sentences.

8 responses to “First sentence, best sentence

  1. I could give you many sentences from The Secret Scriptures by Sebastian Barry. I listened to it (audiobook) and many many times I rewound to hear sentences again, revelling in the words. But I can’t remember them now.

    “I was asleep when he died” Patti Smith, Just Kids (admittedly the foreward)

    “I write this sitting in the kitchen sink.” I Capture the Castle, Dodie Smith

    “It is a lovely oddity of human nature that a person is more inclined to interrupt two people in conversation than one person alone with a book.” The Rules of Civility, Amor Towles

    “Is there anything nice to be said about other people’s vacations?” Rules of Civility again.

    Only the first two are first sentences – did they have to be?

    Okay, never mind the sentences, what happened to the car?

  2. “How strange it was to see men do something beautiful.” BREATH by Tim Winton

    “Whatever had driven her, whispered ‘Die!’ in her once-perfect, now-scarred ear, she had immolated it.” GIRL, INTERRUPTED by Susanna Kaysen

    “I mean, anybody can break through a screen door and glass and wood and iron or anything else if he needs to, anybody at all, and specially Arnold Friend.” Where Are You Going, Where Have You Been by Joyce Carol Oates

    XO

  3. Pingback: Kill your darlings, win a prize | Fangs and Clause

Leave a Reply

