Gifts

I am the dog caretaker. I’ve been the dog caretaker for weeks and months. My two friends are falling over themselves trying to express their gratitude for the dog care. I appreciate that, but I don’t really want to go out to dinner (although I will). I just want space. For the first time in practically two months I am in my office without having dogs staring holes through me or jockeying for the best place on the floor. I made coffee for everyone this morning and counted the minutes until they left. I have a shit-ton of work to do starting now.

What’s the best gift you’ve received?

9 responses to “Gifts

  1. Yeah, pretty much solitude is the best gift for me. (Though on my first run with the club I’m in, I was the last one coming in, still about a mile out, and one of the members ran out to meet me and run in with me. Nicest thing to happen to me in a long time. In that case, losing my solitude was a real gift.)

  2. Okay, so in the last few hours, after my cutesy knee-jerk answer, I came up with the best gift ever, time; time to observe, ponder, decide and write what I want to write, time to edit, rewrite, read out loud and submit. This precious commodity is granted because the demands of my family are few and because what is required of me at work is quite pedestrian.

    I know this sounds simplistic but it’s coming from someone who, as a beginner at the age of thirty-eight, had almost every piece submitted on spec accepted,(I stopped counting by-lines after 60), and then went to ten years of not touching a keyboard because of what was demanded of me as a woman, wife, mother, full time employee and daughter to elderly parents. That I am now given the time to be a word-whore is a wholesome endeavor and the best gift ever. Hey, that rhymes.

Leave a Reply

