Working

Yes, I’m working while my compatriots go off and grill things. But I don’t really care. I’d rather be working on my MS, but deadlines don’t care about what I want to do.

But as a little gift, here is what I’m making tonight:

Cold Emerald Noodles

Noodles:

1 Tb salt

1 lb fresh Chinese noodles

2 Tb sesame oil

Emerald Peanut Sauce:

3 c spinach

1/3 c natural peanut butter

1 Tb minced ginger

1 Tb sugar

1/2 ts red pepper flakes (I’ll probably increase this)

1/3 c hot water

3 Tb soy sauce

1 Tb rice vinegar

Fried Scallion Garnish:

3 Tb peanut oil

4 medium scallions, thinly sliced

Cook noodles with salt until al dente. Drain and rinse with cold water. Toss with sesame oil

Sauce: Place all ingredients in a food processor or blender. Grind until smooth.

Fry the scallions until lightly browned (about 2 min). Transfer to a paper towel. (I usually forget this step, and instead I shred up some cucumber and add that instead. I’ve also added grilled chicken to this recipe in the past.)

Toss noodles and sauce. Sprinkle with scallions! (Yes, the exclamation point was in the original.)

What’s your take on the fourth: A glorious time to celebrate our great country, an excuse to grill things and drink beer during the afternoon, or a hypocritical celebration of freedom in our increasingly less-free society?

6 responses to “Working

  1. Time for obnoxious neighbors to produce homemade fireworks shows for weeks leading up to the big day, and I’m sure for weeks to follow. I am sleep-deprived and cranky. Also hungry now, thanks to you, with not a scrap of ginger in the house.

  2. Yeah, I have no problem observing our independence day, but I think that’s hardly the significance of most revelers in the day. ‘splosions, beer, and burned meet give the day meaning. And I’m a little uncomfortable with the merging of patriotism into nationalism.

    I had a (turkey) burger and a couple of beers then went to bed early and consoled my big old Border Collie who was alarmed by the fireworks.

Leave a Reply

