Drama

I fully embrace melodrama. Hold my head and sigh when affiliations need to be renumbered? Yep. Shout “what the fuck??” when my author makes the tiny error of hyphenating “my new-found cure for cancer”? Guilty. Claim that I will commit hari-kari on my mechanical pencil if my author can’t make his citations match his references? It has happened.

But real-life drama? No thanks. I prefer my drama to be vicarious. One of my friends has embarked on a relationship with a closeted person. Another friend is going through a dramatic multistage breakup. I love the stories, but keep that shit away from me.

One of the things I love about the freelance lifestyle is that it is mostly drama free. I got up, made a cup of coffee, and sat down at my table to work. I got up, made a cup of coffee, and sat down at my table to work. I invented a bad poetry contest on my blog because I was bored one day. I drank my coffee and went back to work.

But I find myself in an sticky editorial ethic situation. I’m walking the edge of academic honesty, but I know damn well where I want my feet to land. Communications may become fraught. I’m waiting for a response and am considering consulting a third party. It’s making me fret and twitch.

It best be resolved soon, because I have some melodrama to work on. I’ve got to decide whether “Ca^2+ dependent” has a hyphen or an en dash. *Puts hand to brow and feels faint.*

What’s your drama?

13 responses to “Drama

  1. shhhh. Indy. Just between you and me.

    Can you think of a suitable replacement for “what the fuck!?#!?” (when I say it, there’s all that punctuation at the end. Must be a regional variation). I, like you, find I say it, uhm, well, let’s say I just say it too often. OK?

    Firstly, my boss doesn’t like it when I say it to him, and secondly, mom would shoot us if she knew. You’re good at putting names to things (and you’re a poet). What else could we say?

    • The problem with “what the fuck!?#!?” is that you can use it for all situations. You might need to have a different phrase for each situation. For example, when Baby Cougar says “Mom, adorable child #3 just hit adorable child #2 with a lego brick,” you can say “Oh, dear” or “What in the world?”. However, when your boss comes to you and says “I would like you to stop [doing the work I hired you for] and clean toilets,” you could say “Are you kidding?” Or if that sounds too American, maybe you could say “Why would you say that?” or a more strongly worded “Are you in your right mind?”.

      Let your gaze communicate the curse word and following punctuation marks, while your words sound [uncharacteristically] mild.

  2. So that’s how you spell Hairy Carrie.

    I’m in Denver, on my way to Cape Girardeau, Missouri. I’ve already had a text message fight with one brother and I’m not even home yet. Here comes the family drama! Martinis and beer with old friends will be had, though not together.

  3. My sister invited herself and my nephew to Thanksgiving. At my house.

    She told our parents, but not me. After booking the hotel.

    You want drama? Pass the &%#$ing mashed potatoes.

Leave a Reply

