You May Hate Me Now

In two weeks I’m off to a writing residency. (If you have never been on one, look here.) I’ve given some vague thoughts to whether or not to take my bicycle and whether I should print out my whole manuscript and what I should work on while I’m there. I’ve even given some thought about finding a new Netflix addiction to some show that DP would hate because you can’t write all the time. (Last writing residency I watched a lot of Bones, and still wrote 100 pages, which was my main writing goal.)

But what do I read?? Shit! I’ve started reading Hare with Amber Eyes, a book that certain sisters of mine have been begging me to read for a while now. And by a while I mean years. I love it, and it’s making me think about new ways to write. I want more.

I need some good, meaty memoirs, some nice thick science tomes (Averil), and some schlock fiction for when I want to tear my eyes out with my bare hands.

Please help.

24 responses to “You May Hate Me Now

  1. I’d say “enjoy your time away” but what I really mean is “go work your ass off, Indy!” FTF. Turn off your wifi and work like mad. 🙂

  2. Best American Noir of the Century – edited by Otto Penzler
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time – Mark Haddon
    The Age of Miracles – Karen Thompson Walker
    Blindness – Jose Saramago
    The Fault in Our Stars – John Green
    Say You’re Sorry – Michael Robotham
    A Brief History of Time – Stephen Hawking
    The Elegant Universe – Brian Greene

    Trying to cover all bases for you, Indy.

  3. Have you read The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls? It is perhaps not “meaty” but it is brilliant and compulsively readable. I’d also throw The War of Art (Steven Pressfield) in there for when your productivity needs a kick in the gerund. Good luck, and have fun!!

Leave a Reply

