How do I write over the holidays?

One of the very most useful discussions I had in a writing workshop was how we would continue to write over the summer when we didn’t have to turn in a poem every week or every other week.

Of course I don’t remember any of the techniques our professor or my classmates suggested, but just the fact that the professor brought it up as an important class item helped me think about it. That’s the thing about writing, no one can tell you exactly what to do to get it done.

I have successfully written 300 words a day for two days. So now I feel as if I have bragging rights, and can tell you what to do. But here’s the thing. Writing is one of my favorite things about myself even though I whine up a storm about doing it.

Christmas is complicated (although not nearly as complicated as when we had to go visit two families, two nursing homes, and negotiate stays between sisters, friends, and dog-friendly households). There is a nice independent coffeeshop near my sister-in-law’s house. DP and I go there at least once to get some work done and to support them.

I could write 300 words there, slightly  more than a page. I can remind myself that I’m not the polite in-law, or the bratty youngest child. I can stake a very short claim on who I am when I write.

Once, when I was in a much more emotionally dire situation, I kept a haiku journal. It was the faintest whisper of poetry that I could write before bed, reminding me that I wasn’t just watching my mother recover from chemotherapy. I was also a writer. Hi, I’m still here.

Hi, I’m still here.

How do you survive the holidays?

12 responses to “How do I write over the holidays?

  1. So far, I’ve survived them one event at a time and by the grace of online shopping.

    Routine helps, too, I think. And so does making up new words to established holiday songs, oddly enough. 🙂

  2. I always have a hard time getting to the studio around the holidays, because apparently I’d rather just putter aimlessly around my house, alternately creating and tidying up piles of clutter and getting more and more fed up with my loved ones.

    So I’ve developed a strategy. Even if I only have 45 minutes and zero creative urges, I make myself go to the studio and wash the floor or organize my tools. If I happen to accidentally make something, fine. And then I come home and magically have more patience for the people I live with.

    And that’s how I survive the holidays.

  3. One day at a time. My life went from zero to one hundred sixty with this new job, and I’m finding it a struggle to write. So glad I got the heavy lifting for the next book finished early.

  4. Not much writing here. I try to take the holidays and let the creativity come out in other places because if I tried to squeeze the writing in too, I’d end up hating myself because there is no room for it. The rejections that come in don’t help much either…
    So, I sew elf hats for beer just like everyone else.

  5. 1) Holidays? What holidays?
    2) Holidays! What holidays!

    You know what I do. Write more! (but you also know it’s summer down here, and the days are longer, the energy higher, and the seasonal cooking full of baby vegetables).

    courage you northern hemispherians! The earth continues to revolves.

  6. Due to a recent health “situation” I’ve not been able to concentrate to read or even watch a movie (much less write) until just this week. (Thanks, percocet!) I’m actually eager to get back to putting some words in order to remember what I used to do. Holidays? Meh. They won’t get in my way, assuming I get underway.

Leave a Reply

