Adjunct Clause

What is as poorly paid and respected as being a poet (OK it pays more than being a poet. I have earned exactly $100 for my poetic efforts over the years.) or a freelance copyeditor?* Adjuncting! So of course that means that I’m going to do it. I might as well become a farmer too.

You will be relieved to know that I have a few shreds of professional dignity. When the email came, I relied on my writing skills to ask soberly about the dates, times, and the pay rather than just responding “SQUEEEEEE” as if I were DP when Felicia Day appears on the TV.

What badly paid profession should I pick up next?

*For people interested in the labor, educational, and ethical ramifications of adjunct labor in institutions of higher learning, read this, or this, or this.

 

11 responses to “Adjunct Clause

Leave a Reply

