Gratitude

What’s that I hear? It’s the melodious chorus of birds echoing over the frozen wasteland that is my yard. Poor birds, I’m surprised that haven’t frozen to death in the last few days. Clearly it is time to take a moment to reflect on what I’m grateful for during the last few moments of winter.

1. I’m fucking grateful I don’t live in [city redacted] and have to watch drunken post-St.-Patrick’s-Day-parade-victims vomit/pass out/pee on the public transportation system.

2. I’m fucking grateful that I had to deal with [difficult client] when I worked at [job redacted], because it prepared me for [current situation]. I know to take a deep breath before I answer my emails, and I know that you can’t argue with crazy.

3. I’m fucking grateful that it is cloudy again, because the sun causes skin cancer. Anyway, I should be making my deadlines and dealing with [current situation]. Why go outside and enjoy yourself when you can edit?

4. I’m grateful that my dishwasher has become the world’s most expensive drying rack. Washing dishes by hand really makes you think about technology and the future of civilization. Builds character, if not one’s marriage.

5. I’m fucking grateful for all of you, and I even mean it.

What are you grateful for?

 

9 responses to “Gratitude

  1. I’m grateful for my students, and I’m grateful that I only see them once a week. I’m grateful for my studio, and grateful that I get to come home every day to a place with couches and potable water.

    Most of all I’m grateful for my loved ones, and for the fact that my current stage of life does not involve wiping anyone’s butt but my own.

  2. The sun. It made an unscheduled appearance on the weekend. Two days of glorious weather – 19 Celsius yesterday.

    And today? No sun, a bit chilly, but DRY!

  3. I am most grateful for indoor plumbing and central heat, I have lived without both and it sucks. I am grateful for my husband and daughters, I remember life before them and now is better. I am grateful that my government is not blowing up its own citizens and that I wasn’t on flight 370. I was on an airliner over Africa that was shot at and almost went down, that really sucked. Actually I’m just grateful for my life and places like this where I can share why I am grateful…Thanks.

  4. I’m grateful I woke up this morning at 2am to the sounds of my older daughter being sick, because that meant she made it to the bathroom in time—and I got a hug and an “I love you” for sitting with her and putting her hair in a ponytail and finding a bucket for her to take to bed with her for psychological comfort.

    I’m glad I had to plunge the other toilet at 5am, because that means my six year old is using TP again—-better too much than none at all. Trust me.

    I’m glad I have a sinus headache today, because it means the weather is changing again and the only way to go is up.

Leave a Reply

