The Daily Grind

Here is today’s to do list:

1. Call and make a haircut appointment.

2. Empty dishwasher.

3. Pick up sodas for party at Second Job. What kind of soda do people drink? Fuck it, I’ll just buy Coke.

4. Attend writing group at Second Job.

5. Actually do work at Second Job.

6. Do most of second pass of science paper.

7. Write about my dad’s death.

7. Write about my dad’s death.

7. Write about my dad’s death so I can move on and write about other things. Like my mom’s death.

7. Write about my dad’s death because writing about it was easier than being there.

7. Write about my dad’s death so that I can have a completed draft sometime before I die in late June.

7. Write about my dad’s death because books are meant to be written.

7. Write about my dad’s death because it moves my story forward.

This is why writing is hard.

12 responses to “The Daily Grind

  1. Thanks, y’all! One of my problems is that I’m really impatient, I just want to keep working and get it done. But last night, when I had been working all day and was in precarious mental status, I had to just stop and be OK with that.

    Also, as this list reminds me, I really need a haircut. 🙂

    • I had to look that up, but I imagine a passionate outcry will lead to good writing.

      Also, I thought you should know that I’ve started using “tho” instead of “though.” Frequently.

      • I know, that’s why I told you. I used to use “tho” when I read Jane Austen, because she writes “tho,” in dialogue mostly. And I was a Philistein before I was a copyeditor, so some of it filters through. But not thru. At least, not yet.

    • Oh don’t worry, I won’t cut it to Cougar lengths. Or should I say shorts? Just a little trim. Mostly it’s DP that needs a haircut, and he seems to get a kick out of me making him an appointment. If that’s his only throwback sexism, I’ll take it. He did install the dishwasher.

      And he won’t be Samson-ed either.

Leave a Reply

