Eating Alone

Every summer, DP goes off to mold young minds in a neighboring state. Sometimes I revel in my freedom, and other times I miss him bitterly. But this time around, I’m doing okay so far. There’s been some anxiety and binge Netflix watching, but other than that, I’m glad to putter around my own space for a short while.

One of the things I rediscover when DP is gone is cooking. DP loves to cook, and I love to be fed. We’re well-matched. I have a farm share this year for the first time since I was living with a passel of roommates in the city. What do you cook with fennel, spinach, and pea tendrils? Good question! My cooking is more touch and go than DP’s. But it is also more vegetarian. Today I thought back to my bachelor days and I did not think about the loneliness or the arguments with roommates over dishes or the nagging feeling that I could be living my life more fully. Nope, I thought of gazpacho.

There are a few dishes I excel at. Biscuits? Yes. Herby scrambled eggs? Yes. Lentils five thousand ways and all of them delicious? Yes. So without further ado I bring to you Too-Hot-To-Cook Bachelor Gazpacho, which is adapted from Anna Thomas‘ recipe.

In a food processor or blender, grind up

3-4 tomatoes

2/3 of a cucumber

Optional: hot pepper, the dried out red onion at the back of your fridge, an avocado, as much garlic as you can stand, bell peppers, really anything that you want to get rid of that you think would taste good. I had pea tendrils from the farm share and I threw them in too. Also I put in a ragged handful of cilantro.

Pour into a serving bowl and add 3 Tb. olive oil, 1 1/2 Tb. vinegar (recipe calls for red wine, but I only had balsamic. Oh well.), salt and pepper, cumin, oregano, and crushed red pepper. The color is hideous, especially if you add avocado, but I promise it will taste good.

Finely dice the last 1/3 of your cucumber and add for texture. Or use all of your cucumber earlier because who has the patience for such formalities?

Put in the fridge if you have time, and let it cool. Eat with bread and cheese. Or if, like me, you don’t have any bread on hand because no one has been grocery shopping for days, eat it with crackers. It’s a good thing you’re eating alone, do you have any idea how much garlic is in this?

What do you eat when you’re alone?

12 responses to “Eating Alone

  1. Oh lawdy lawdy lawd … I am a very bad eater when alone. Anything I don’t have to prepare. It’s like I’m still 12 and my mother has left me alone for the weekend with $10 and bicycle.

  2. Speaking of gazpacho, I’ve just come from a fabulous wedding in France where they served little bowls of tomato gazpacho, with tiny diced cucumbers and onions to sprinkle across the top of the cold pureed soup. That was nice too. I might have added the avocado into that to improve (rather than detract from) the colour.

  3. I want a farm share! I tend to kill plants through sheer proximity, but I’d wear a biohazard suit inside-out for fresh tomatoes.

    When I’m alone, I either make lazy Mac & Cheese (cook pasta, add enough shredded cheese to give a cow a stress headache) with TONS of garlic and red onion and oregano and baby spinach.

    Or I eat ice cream.

  4. Yum!

    I eat crazy sandwiches. Pickles and peanut butter, hummus and sun-dried tomatoes and iceberg lettuce, avocado and alfalfa sprouts, etc. I often find myself craving miso soup and spring rolls, but I’m too fucking lazy to bother with that stuff when the Tofu Hut is a mile away.

  5. OK. Usually I eat crackers and cheese, or strange combinations of foods I don’t have to prepare. Cereal. After a few days of eating alone I often have to go out and eat a gyro, or one of my other favorite protein-rich foods. This is why I had to post about the gazpacho.

  6. I make my favorite homemade pizza: basic margherita pizza with fresh mozzarella and basil and homemade sauce. My husband finds this pizza boring (he likes a heartier sausage-and-peppers pizza) but I love it to pieces.

Leave a Reply

