Technology 1, Indy Clause 1

When I woke up yesterday morning and discovered (while posting on Teri’s blog) that my “d” key didn’t work, I thought it was just a stray crumb. Alas, the key depressed, but no letter appeared. The key depressed, and then so did I.

But I am a somewhat resourceful clause. In a desperate gambit to expand my Adjunct Clause empire, I went to my Second Job (which is over for the summer) and used the computers there to apply to teach a class. My current editing project does not require a lot of rewriting. So back at home I mostly added hyphens, wrote out queries, and pasted the letter “d” where necessary.

However, after lunch, the “e” key went too. There are two “e”s in my first name alone. Not being able to get to my email was a low blow, computer. Mocking me on Facebook did not help, Sarah W. (although it was possibly funny). I limped through my last paper, and sent it in. Because I had to cut and paste both my “e”s and “d”s, the “Here’s my paper, thanks!” email took me fifteen minutes. Let’s not even talk about the author queries.

Such a pathetic picture: Indy Clause in her extraordinarily warm and humid apartment, cutting and pasting the most common letter in the English language. But hope was in sight! Her friend B works in IT. She has stray keyboards coming out of her ears, just about. The exchange happened in a bar. It wasn’t even subtle, as I misjudged how big a keyboard was and brought along a too-small bag. (Insert is that a keyboard? joke here.) Thank god I don’t have a drug habit. I’d be busted immediately.

And so I am reunited with the letter “e” and the letter “d” and can write again. B tells me that business computers have a 3-year lifetime. My computer is three years old. Buying a computer seems ridiculously wasteful when I now have an external keyboard. And yet, my (work)life isn’t worth living when my computer goes. And it’s good for the taxes. (Freelancing has very little overhead, which seems great at first, until April when you realize that because no one withholds taxes from your earnings that if you have no expenses you owe the government a lot of money.)

And maybe I’ll keep this one as a backup.

What can you not live without?

11 responses to “Technology 1, Indy Clause 1

  1. What can you not live without?
    A computer without issues.
    For a writer to limp along with a computer having issues is like a republican without a teabag.
    I have two extra keyboards and ended up writing my column on my Kindle. My writing app did not have spell check, my editor loved that.
    Buy a new computer, I did. I’ve gone from wobbly wheeled roller skates to a Ferrari and I love it.

      • My Ferrari is a Lenovo, solid state. I looked at Macs but I was a bit intimidated by the learning curve and the price (almost twice what I paid). If I had the bucks and guts I probably would have bought an Air. Averil’s recent post about computers and harripants’ reply convinced me that solid state was the way to go.
        This puppy is so fast I feel like I get where I want to go before I even leave. Of course when considering the wait time on my old dog a slug moves faster.

      • I switched from a PC to a Mac last time. The learning curve wasn’t too bad for me, but I use parallels and so am really used to going back and forth between different versions of Word. Just close your eyes and repeat “tax deduction.” 🙂 But I hear you on price. For my sister’s birthday we all got together and bought her a nice laptop for peanuts compared to a Mac. (But I do love my Mac.)

  2. First, me and my blog take full responsibility.

    Second, I’m a mac girl, but my husband is an IT nerd and he thinks we are all nuts to be so nuts about macs. He admits to their pretty interface, but insists that their innards are the worst every made and that we’ve all (we “mac people”) have caved to mac marketing in paying ridiculous sums for their inferior products.

    So of course I have 2.

    • You will be hearing from my lawyer. Downith? Downith??

      Intriguing.

      If you just need a good copy of Word, some reasonably fast Internet, and storage space for 1,000 versions of the Fucker, then design is important. 🙂

    • when I was a girl, we used to have something called pinsuls (or maybe it was “pencils.” Such a along time ago!). You held them between your index finger and thumb, and dragged them across a sheet of paper. They left a (usually illegible) mark that approximated letters, words, whatever… I can live without them.

      Darjeeling tea, on the other hand? Not a chance!

  3. Pingback: Spelling and Learning Disabilities | Fangs and Clause

Leave a Reply

