When Nerds Write

“Did you know that when the great storm of 1938 [a category 5 hurricane] hit New England it registered on seismographs in Alaska and sea spray blew as far inward as [town in very westernmost Massachusetts]?”

Yes, that was me making “conversation” the other day with a bunch of people some of whom I only knew slightly. (In my defense, the info was aimed at a good friend who I knew would appreciate it.) On the one had, that is one of the most interesting things I know. On the other hand, I think it’s one of the most interesting things I know.

I had writing group yesterday and I’ve been writing a series of science poems (I know, you’re all surprised). The first one came from a paper I edited, and the others have been ripped from the headlines.

“Your poems are always like a puzzle. I have to read them twice,” one of my writing group colleagues said.

A few weeks ago (in another setting) my poem sparked a debate on poetry of ideas. The group agreed that of course poetry SHOULD have ideas, and I try to make it pretty as well as informative/exploratory.

As usual, I spend half my time feeling like a freak and the other half of the time sure that I am doing something interesting.

What’s your nerdiest moment?

 

6 responses to “When Nerds Write

  1. I had a discussion with my seven year old about our favorite superheroes and who their sidekicks were, and she looked at me at one point and said, “No, Aquaman is DC, not Marvel. And Speedy is Green Arrow’s sidekick, not the Flash’s.”

    So, not only am I a nerd, I’m a failed nerd.

    But I smoked her on Marvel characters. Even if she laughed at me for choosing Agent Coulson as my favorite.

  2. The cool kids at work were talking about how they’d been out partying the night before and had to take a nap the next day to keep going. Which struck me as so quaint and adorable and young that I’m afraid I came out with it and said so. Which prompted a question about what I like to do for fun (drinky conversation, long night with a good book) and a chorus of jeers at my answer.

    Fuck it, I’m a nerd.

  3. Nerd
    : an unstylish, unattractive, or socially inept person ; especially : one slavishly devoted to intellectual or academic pursuits

    I don’t believe a single one of us here is a “nerd”. We are simply thoughtful, interesting (and interested) humans.

Leave a Reply

