Glasses

My friends often remark about how many sisters I have (a lot) and how different we all are (true). Cougar and I have pursued radically different career and life paths over time (although they are much more similar now than they used to be), but we have many things in common despite all of that. Not only do we share our average looks and above-average hair, we also have similar reading habits (which we shared with our mother from whom we got our excellent hair). We read too quickly and if someone changes clothes in a movie, we sometimes can’t tell if the he/she/they are the same character.

One day we were talking on the phone and Cougar asked me if I ever put on my glasses thinking that it would help me remember who characters were. (She wears them only for reading, and I wear them only for driving or when my eyes are tired.) I laughed and laughed and laughed at her. “No, that’s ridiculous.” Except today I was having a hard time concentrating on my paper, and I put on my glasses to see if that would help. And it did, because glasses are a work tool for me. That is, I mostly wear them when I’m working. It’s like how people say freelancers should put on nice clothes even if they are working at home because it helps them feel professional. (Note: I do not do this.)

What weird habits do you have? Do they work?

3 responses to “Glasses

  1. Oh Indy, you are behind the eight ball. My glasses are the first thing I reach for when I wake up in the morning. I wear them all the time (now). I can’t even read my watch without them (which may explain why I am awake now. I think it’s, well, not quite five).

    I am getting my eyes tested next week. I think it will help me think more clearly. Glasses don’t help me see, they help me think. There.

  2. I need my particular brand of pen, and if I don’t have one near to hand I will search all over the house until I find one. Glasses help, too, because without them it’s like trying to read underwater.

Leave a Reply

