Why aren’t you writing?

Colleague: I need to write up these reports, but I don’t want to.

Indy Clause: Do you have anything for writing group next week?

Colleague: *guilty look*

Indy Clause: You have time! Why don’t you write something now?

Colleague: What are you going to turn in?

Indy (ignoring obvious dodge): That essay I was talking about the other day. (Putting on a tone of false brightness) What are you going to turn in? *Pointed look*

Colleague: But, these reports….

Indy: Do they really have to be finished tonight?

Colleague: No, but…

Indy: Wouldn’t you rather be writing?

Colleague: Yes, but…

Indy: I’m helping you out! I’m trying to help you find time to write.

Colleague: Yes, and I appreciate that, but my work life…?

Indy to Colleague who is sort of her supervisor: I don’t give a fuck about your work life.

Colleague: *laughs*

Indy: This is why they pay you the big bucks, and health insurance, and I am still a part-timer.

What are you doing this weekend?

5 responses to “Why aren’t you writing?

  1. 1. Thinking about writing something I shouldn’t write.
    2. Packing people supplies and dog supplies for the week-long car trip to KY.
    3. Celebrating my husband’s birthday.
    4. Pretending I”m not panicking about #2.

Leave a Reply

