The Writer’s Paradox

It’s a beautiful crisp spring day here in [location redacted]. The sky is blue, the Japanese maple is newly red. Even the house across the street looks sharp and vinyl-pretty against the bright sky.

One of my friends is at the writing residency where we met, where on days like today I would get up and step into a bathroom that had been converted into a tiny writing room. I would see the same kinds of trees against the sky and hear the sightseeing buses snort down the street.

In short, I should be writing. But instead I have an overdue paper and grades that are due. I spent an embarrassing amount of time yesterday tallying participation and figuring out grades. Adjunct math is a sad, backwards affair.

If I had nothing to do, I would probably be picking fights with Sarah W. by text or ranting on CougarSon’s blog. I would suddenly be inspired to weed my garden or buy skeletal flamingos to plant in my yard to irritate my neighbor. The closest thing I would do to writing would be to peruse the world’s best essay submission list.

Ain’t that always the way?

What’s your paradox?

6 responses to “The Writer’s Paradox

  1. And here I thought you only picked fights with me via text when you had everything else to do. My world-view has changed.

    Regardless, I’m sure it would help if I stopped forgetting my blessed phone . . .

    My paradox is a pair of ducks. Never mind.

  2. You better get ready to pick fights with me, as i arrive next week ready to go. don’t forget to pick me up, or to get my maple sugar candy ready. Remember, I won the contest that I judged?

Leave a Reply

