Rules

My mother had a lot of rules about a lot of things. It probably came from being German and having a lot of children. Is it any wonder that I grew up to be a copyeditor? I am used to following and breaking rules.

My mother’s rules for husking corn are as follows:

1. Outside!

2. Take a bag.

3. This is a task that is normally done by children.

4. Do not bring those husks back in the house! Throw them away outside.

5. Did you wipe your feet?

6. Pass the butter, please.

As I am the youngest in the house, I husked the corn. Because DP is doing most of the cooking work, I husked the corn. Because corn is in season, I did not buy frozen.

Summer is time when I have no structure, and my ability to get shit done falters accordingly. Eat better, drink more water, no drinking until quittin’ time. Follow your mother’s rules unless there is a good reason to break them. (I mean, really, who doesn’t wear shorts into [Southern City] in August??)

What rules do you follow, what rules do you break?

4 responses to “Rules

  1. I think the first time I felt like a real adult was when I realized I made the rules re: corn and butter. I grew up in a household with a firm rule against corncob/butterstick contact. I now live in a household where we embrace the opportunity for maximum butter coverage offered only by The Cob/Stick Roll. Corn silks in the morning toast be damned. It’s worth it.

Leave a Reply

