Notes from the End of Bachelorhood

I spent the last two weeks as a temporary bachelor. Some things are great: I can sleep diagonal in the bed. I can write without interruption. I finished up a Netflix series that is not universally popular in my household. But other things are less great: I guess I actually like the man I married, so I wanted him to be around. I had to cook for myself. Both taking out the recycling and garbage AND bringing the cans in is so much work.

I know, you don’t care about my extraordinarily minor problems. What about your fucking writing? Ah, yes, writing. Turns out being alone is excellent for your writing. I knew this from grad school, of course. But being alone without feeling unloved is even better.

I’ve switched two sections. My pain-in-the-ass section has only two small bits with major problems. It used to have a lot more. The whole thing is riddled with minor problems, but that’s par for the course. I don’t hate it. I am seeing resonance between chapters. [Management: Indy refuses to apologize for the mixed metaphor.]

I’ve learned how to make curried noodles.

Now I’ve got to get the fuck back to work. You too, people, you too!

Bisous,

Indy Clause

6 responses to “Notes from the End of Bachelorhood

  1. Welcome back to cohabitation!

    I’m still holiday-ing it for one more week. Heading to Colorado on Wednesday to meet 8 good friends since middle school to celebrate our 50th bdays with hiking, biking, and white water rafting. There will be cocktails and beer.

    Then. Back to the fucker for reals.

Leave a Reply

