Reduce, Revise, Recycle, Reuse, Restructure

It’s 7ish in Fangs-and-Clause-landia. I have a little time before I begin my workday. Yesterday my beta reader got back to me with her comments. She suggested a new narrative thread. Of course, after mumble years of working on the Fucker, the new narrative thread is an old narrative thread. But I think she’s right. I’m just not sure how to do it.

I could give up. How many times do I need someone to tell me that I don’t have a narrative thread? But she still thinks it’s worth it. And I would hate myself if I gave up. I guess I still think it’s worth it too.

So time to reinvent myself again. Reinvent the wheel. Be the guy on the bike keeping the whole thing afloat (see Annie Dillard’s The Writing Life for explanation of that one). Publishing was probably an easier game when The Pilgrim at Tinker’s Creek came out.

I’ve been realizing recently how freaking low drama my life is. And I’m really grateful for this. I have set up my life this way. This way I can save my drama for my (memoir about my) mama. (This is DP’s joke and I don’t care what anyone thinks, I still find it funny.)

Back into the breach.

Bisous,

Indy Clause

Leave a Reply

