August notes

It may have been quiet over the last week on my blog, but that sure isn’t the case in Fangs and Clause Central. My sister Cougar is literally in the house and we’ve been talking and fighting and talking while fighting. Evidently recreational fighting is the way of Clauses.

I wouldn’t know because I am abandoning the Clause family reunion to stay home and write. This goes against the very fabric of my family culture. (Yes, that’s probably a mixed metaphor. Yes, I’m too lazy to change it.)

It’s easy to say you’re going to finish a book over the summer, especially in April. But when August looms it becomes a little more tricky. I have been working mostly regularly on the book. A little bit most every weekday. But there have been visits and visitors, there has been burnout and panic. Sometimes I just want to spend my free time reading a book under my tree.

When are you done? I don’t know. But I know I’m reaching the end of my ability to make the MS better under my own steam. I could keep chipping away at it for the next 10 years, but I don’t want to. I want a finished book. So it’s nose and grindstone. It’s looking up all the tiny facts I have been glossing over. It’s develop the last little bits and polish, polish, polish.

When is it over?

8 responses to “August notes

  1. Hell if I know. I keep starting and abandoning and starting other work and abandoning that, too. I can’t seem to get my teeth into anything.

    But you? You can do this. FTF, my friend.

Leave a Reply

